Latest NorthEast India News | India’s Squad for T20I Series against Australia Announced, Assam’s Riyan Parag Left Out

Despite the impressive performance in the recent Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, Riyan Parag from Assam, has been excluded from the forthcoming IDFC First Bank 5-match T20I series against Australia, commencing on November 23, 2023, in Visakhapatnam.

The Assam skipper almost single-handedly helped his team make a deep run into the tournament, contributing on a regular basis in all departments.

Parag scored an incredible 510 runs in 10 matches at an average of 85 and a strike rate of 182.79, with as many as seven fifties. He cleared the boundary a whopping 40 times and led from the front in every sense of the word. The 22-year-old also picked up 11 wickets at an economy rate of 7.29, often providing crucial breakthroughs.

On Monday, November 20, Team India announced their squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series against World Cup champions Australia.

The Men in Blue are still reeling from their heartbreaking defeat in the final of the 2023 World Cup, and Suryakumar Yadav is the only player from the XI to be named in the squad to take on the Aussies in the shortest format. SKY will captain the squad, which wears a young and fresh look.

India’s squad: Suryakumar Yadav (captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dube, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar, Shreyas Iyer (for last two T20Is).

Meanwhile, the Assam Cricket Association (ACA) has confirmed that the 3rd T-20 match between India and Australia will be hosted at the ACA Barsapara Stadium in Guwahati on November 28, 2023.